Skip to content

Of Cottage Cheese and Cap’n Crunch

November 19, 2010

There’s a cat eating my cottage cheese, a Boston Globe strewn across the table and a big grandfather clock ticking absentmindedly in the corner. In other words, I’m home.

Boston in November…

…a few trees left to foliate, a few empty seats on the T, a few overly optimistic squirrels and a few little ducklings from my childhood.

As much as I enjoy life in Sydney – what with its near-perfect weather, dogs and neighbors – there’s something about coming home that makes me feel weightless and grounded at the same time. This is where everything makes sense to me. Where seasons change and it’s not necessary to check your shoes for killer spiders before putting them on. Where Trader Joe’s solves so many of daily life’s little problems. Where maple syrup comes in four grades, drug stores are open 24 hours, and the use of the letter R is totally voluntary.

my current shopping list

my current shopping list

 

And for those of you still stuck wondering, “Why in God’s name is she eating cottage cheese?!” the answer is simple: I haven’t been to the supermarket yet. We’ve had a few lovely dinners so far (butterflied chicken, roast beef, key lime pie) but I’ve spent too long pouring over the supermarket inserts in The Globe (Cracker Barrel! French Fried Onions! Crescent Rolls! Brighams! Eggos!), and not enough time actually wandering the aisles. It’s time to go in search of real (possibly fake) food!

Let the cat eat cottage cheese…Just give me my Cap’n Crunch.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Nina (the friend) permalink
    November 19, 2010 5:01 am

    I’m so happy to have you home. Don’t go back.

  2. Jess permalink
    November 19, 2010 11:14 am

    So many comments to add…. where do I start?!

  3. Jess permalink
    November 19, 2010 11:29 am

    Kitty Cat is so like my beautiful Jake. Gorgeous.

    Squirrel Schmirrel. Possums are the way to go.

    Have you really been gone so long to eat all those lovely dinners already? Wow! You haven’t wasted any time!

    And you CAN get Cracker Barrel here. So that in itself is a reason to come back. So there.

  4. Meredith permalink
    November 20, 2010 3:13 am

    I love the thought of you being on the same continent as me. Same time zone, even!

Trackbacks

  1. My Cobb Salad with Hard Boiled Egg Yolk Dressing « The Shortlists
  2. Bircher Muesli « The Shortlists
  3. Macaroni & Bean Soup « The Shortlists

Leave a Reply

