Skip to content

Spaghetti al Limone

January 31, 2017

img_1475

In predictable fashion, all of my iDevices have started to fail at once, like clockwork. One Instagram post sends my iPhone into a speedy tailspin and my (7-year-old!) MacBook decides whether or not it wants to turn on based on, by all indications, the political climate. So not very often.

But here I stand, in my pajamas and slippers, 5-month-old strapped to my chest because, as a foil to the computer, she has very specific requirements about how and where she sleeps, ready to combat this freezing January day by staying indoors and writing a blog post about spaghetti. Bending recalcitrant technology, and my own penchant for extreme laziness, to keep this dear old blog alive.

img_1474

This spaghetti is one of Eric’s signature dishes, the one that Stella requests most often and the one he makes with the most relish (and flourish). And this is no comment on Eric’s ability, but it’s also dead simple. It’s a Frank Prisinzano number, first tasted at his restaurant Supper, and then recreated with help from this YouTube tutorial. Honestly, you can stop reading this now and just go straight there to make this spaghetti. I’m not going to embellish anything or even print the recipe; with spaghetti al limone, as so often with pasta, messing with it only detracts.

I really believe there’s something elegant about this pasta – the simplicity and unexpectedness of it. There’s also something approachable about it, as you probably have all the ingredients in your kitchen right now, the few dollars it costs to throw together, and the 15 minutes it takes to whip it together. Most importantly, it’s bright and punchy. A reason not to hibernate in the dead of winter.

 

 

 

 

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Claire permalink
    January 31, 2017 11:47 pm

    Did I miss it, I can’t find the recipe.

    • February 1, 2017 12:10 am

      Hi Claire,

      I linked to the really simple YouTube tutorial video. I can post the recipe, too, if you’d like!

      • Claire permalink
        February 1, 2017 12:58 am

        Oops, now II see it. Thank you.

Trackbacks

  1. Frank’s Pasta with Peas | The Shortlists

Leave a comment